Simple, Old-Fashioned Banana Bread

Banana BreadThe delight baking brings our home is quickly swallowed by the mountains of dishes that seem to innocently accumulate after a creative masterpiece.  However, when Tyler and I came into an overabundance of overly ripe bananas, banana bread was the only logical answer!

Warm, banana bread has the ability to revive so many prized memories.  From the times of sitting in my Grandma Owen’s sunroom drinking rootbeer from a mug and sneaking another piece to the Christmas Tyler’s Mamaw poured her love into the baked goodness she gave us.  My heart can’t wait to be able to make all of this for our children and grandchildren.

The best kind of banana bread is the type without all the frills.  Give me some mashed up bananas and some spices, because that’s all that needs to be in it. Oh, and that emphasis on spices? That’s because I love the rustic-ness it adds.  It’s like eating the memory of being in an old cabin by the fireplace.  The recipe I used is a plain, ol’ simple one, but I promise simple is always the best.

Simple, Old-Fashioned Banana Bread

Makes One Loaf

3 – 5  mashed bananas

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup of melted butter (and then maybe a little more)

1 1/2 cup of flour

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1 teaspoon of nutmeg

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

2 eggs

If I am being truly honest with you, I don’t ever stick to recipes.  My mother is a wonderful baker and growing up I spent much of my time watching her in the kitchen.  With this small amount of knowledge, I usually can throw the ingredients together, knowing what the end result will be.   I say usually lightly, because I’ve put cumin in banana bread before and been awfully sorry about it ha!  It turned out like a taco…banana bread. Just ick!

IMG_5169

Heat the oven to 350 degrees and begin to smash the bananas.  The bananas need to look like a watery paste-like substance before you add any other ingredients into them, but you still want them glumpy. Yes. Glumpy.  Add in the vanilla, egg, and butter and stir until blended well.  Now put in the sugar and baking soda.  Make sure the brown sugar you sprinkle in the brown sugar since it holds together so well when it is packed.  This makes mixing the sugar into the banana mixture easier.  Finally, add in the flour and spices (my favorite part!).  Butter and flour a loaf pan and pour the mixture into it.  I like to bake the bread for 45 minutes and check up to see if additional time is needed.  The bread is done with a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_5157

IMG_5180
The bread comes out so moist and full of flavor. I’m sure it will quickly become a favorite in your family!  Don’t be shy to add to it (walnuts, cranberries, nutella, avacoda).  The pantry is the limit when it comes to developing a recipe. 🙂

One thought on “Simple, Old-Fashioned Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Splash Smoothie | blissfully buis

Leave a Reply

