Studio Gear: Holiday Smokey Eye Palette


IMG_6211Decadent is the word that comes to mind when I think about the Holiday Palette by Studio Gear that I recently received in the mail.  It’s a four eyeshadow and blush compact that can create a sultry smokey eye.  The four eyeshadows compliment each other, providing shades of gray and a pop of gold.  The blush is sweet, fresh, and subtle. A perfect set for the holiday season.

IMG_6207The compact is contained in a festive, bokeh sleeve providing an extra notch of security.  When you open it up, you are greeted by four glimmery eyeshadows, a pigment-rich blush, and easy to follow directions on how to get the most our of your palette.  I gasped a little and then did a happy dance the moment I lifted the makeup’s plastic protector. I’m not an eyeshadow gal, but I instantly adored this palette! It puts everything I love about Christmas into an eyeshadow…well four!

IMG_6195Let me explain why I’m not an “eyeshadow gal.” Most of the time my eyes end up resembling a sexy black eye. Like I got punched in the face with beauty products. So most of the time I steer clear of eyeshadow and hope my eyeliner and mascara will do the trick. All that being said, I’m sure you can guess how thrilled I was to find directions on how to put the eyeshadow on.

IMG_6204The directions were precise and the diagram gave a lot of insight – especially for us visual learners.  I do wish I had the specific brushes they were talking about, but found that my brush collection was sufficient to apply the eyeshadow properly.  Seven easy steps for a dramatic eye? I’ll take it.  I’m not going to lie, I definitely felt very feminine and beautiful when I was finished. It was a look I would mainly wear during the evening, but could easily change it to make it day appropriate.

IMG_6210As mentioned, there are four eyeshadows. The lightest shade, frost,  is a soft metallic shade used as a base, in the corner of your eyes, and along the bottom lash for a bright-eyed look. If snowflakes could be eyeshadow, this would be it. Next is platinum, which is a darker, shimmery silver.  It can be applied on the lid on top of the frost. I didn’t use platinum, but opted for coal for a more dramatic look.  Coal is a deep gray and creates depth.  I used coal along my lid, swiped it up to create a small cat eye, and continued it into my crease.  Not wanting platinum to feel left out, I applied it on top of the coal in the middle of my lid. Applying it this way highlighted the transition of light to dark. Lastly for my eyes, I highlighted my brow bone, center of my nose, and cupid’s bow with Glimmer. Glimmer is  the beautiful gold shade you see above. It’s subtle, but created a much needed highlight amongst dramatic colors.

After I finished my eyes, I picked up Snowy Glow on my blush brush and applied it to the apples of my cheeks.  Don’t be fooled friends, this blush is not as sheer as it appears. I almost looked like I was going to an 80’s prom.  Luckily it blends magnificently and I was left with a peachy-gold hue begging for some mistletoe and egg nog. 

PicMonkey Collagestudiogear As a fool when it comes to eye shadow, I was really pleased with how easy the directions were to follow and the results that followed. I used a simple pink lip butter to keep the focus on my eyes. Since today is the first day we have off for Thanksgiving break, we haven’t done much but cook up a storm. So while I didn’t get to strut my stuff out with my husband, it was nice to feel pretty working around the house.

You can find this amazing palette here. It typically sells for $40.00, but is currently at a special price at $25.00.  Get a 10% discount by using the code SGHOLIDAY and make sure you write me a thank you when you receive yours 😉 Just kidding, but seriously. I love mail.

This is a sponsored post powered by BrandBacker.

Leave a Reply

